photo of Lester N. Coney Lester N. Coney
Executive Vice President
Office of the Chairman

Chicago, IL
+1 312.595.6575

Areas of Focus: Corporate and Foundation Business Development

  • Responsible for originating and nurturing new business opportunities as well as expanding and maintaining client relationships across all lines of business
  • Joined Mesirow Financial in 2006
  • Prominent leader in Chicago's business and non-profit community
  • Previously served as senior managing director for Aon Corporation
  • Awarded the 2011 N'Digo Foundation's N'Corporate Award
  • 100 Club of Chicago and Apparel Industry Board 2011 Philanthropic Leadership Award
  • Received Loretto Hospital's 2008 Spirit of Achievement Award
  • Named one of the most influential African Americans in October 2012 and October 2007 by Who's Who in Black Chicago
  • 2007 Executive Leader Award from the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Chicago
  • 2007 King Legacy Award from the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Boys & Girls Club of Chicago
  • Awarded for Leadership in the Arts by The Arts & Business Council of Chicago in 2006
  • Honored by the Friends of DuSable in 2006
  • Honored by the 100 Black Men in 2005
  • Named among the Top 50 Minorities in Business by Crain's Chicago Business in 2004
  • Named Chicago United's Business Leaders of Color in 2003
  • Named Delegate for the Governor of Illinois' Trade Mission to South Africa in 2000
  • Recognized by N'Digo N'fluentials
  • Recipient of the Keeper of the Dream Award in 1999
  • Recipient of the Seeds of Africa Award from the Human Resources Development Institute
  • B.S., George Williams University
  • Vitality Group, board member
  • Art Institute of Chicago, trustee and chairman of corporate committee
  • Lookingglass Theatre, board of directors
  • The Goodman Theatre, life trustee
  • John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, presidential advisory committee
  • Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Foundation, board of directors
  • Wade's World Foundation, board president
  • Purdue University, HR Governance Council
  • Congo Square Theatre Company, founding chairman
  • League of Chicago Theatres, board member and 2011-2012 gala co-chair
  • School of the Art Institute of Chicago, board of governors
  • Columbia College Chicago, trustee